Billings Mustangs Baseball

Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find it in Billings, Montana's Trailhead.



History was made on Tuesday, May 4, 1948, when the Mustangs and Salt Lake City Bees played the first game of organized professional baseball ever to be staged in Billings. Billings Mayor H.E. Biddinger threw out the ceremonial first pitch in front of 3,280 fans who braved near freezing temperatures. Gene Brocker's long double in the ninth inning scored Kenny Jensen from first base, providing the visitors from Salt Lake City with a narrow, 3-2, victory and spoiling the Mustangs home opener.

The Mustangs finished that inaugural season in last place. But the next season they finished second and made the playoffs. In 1964, the league was downgraded to short-season rookie league status and Billings dropped out of the Pioneer League. The Mustangs returned to the league in 1969 and won back-to-back championships in 1972 and '73. In all, the Mustangs have won 14 Pioneer League titles, more than any other team in the Pioneer League. The last championship came in 2003, with field manager Rick Burleson leading the club.

The year 2009 will mark the 36th consecutive year the Mustangs have been affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds, one of the longest running player development relationships in professional baseball. As Billings started the 2009 season, 12 former Mustangs were on the Reds 40-man roster; Edwin Encarnacion, Joey Votto, Jay Bruce, Paul Janish, Adam Rosales, Chris Dickerson, Carlos Fisher, Ramon Ramirez, Josh Roenicke, Craig Tatum, Juan Francisco and Sam LeCure all played for the Mustangs. Other current Major League players who wore a Mustangs uniform include Adam Dunn, Austin Kearns, Jason LaRue, Ray King, Todd Coffey, Ben Broussard, Aaron Boone, B.J. Ryan, Trevor Hoffman, Dewayne Wise, and Corky Miller.

Other notable alumni include: George Brett, Paul O'Neill, Tom Browning, Ron Oester, Gary Redus, Dick Stuart, Kurt Stillwell, Gorman Thomas, Reggie Sanders, Skeeter Barnes, Scott Williamson, Al Cowens, Kal Daniels, Rob Dibble, Lenny Harris, Ruppert Jones, Larry Rothschild, Larry Shepard, Scott Sullivan, Nick Esasky, Joe Oliver, Jack Armstrong, Tom Foley, Butch Henry, Jim Hickman, Reggie Jefferson, Don Wakamatsu and Danny Tartabull.

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 1553
Billings, MT 59103

Street Address

2611 9th Ave N
Billings, MT 59101


Fax: (406) 252-2968


Mid June through early September - call or check online for game schedule


Afternoon and evening games - call or check online for game schedule

view forecast

View All
Powered by
Text Us